Research & Publications

Projects

Research

Behind every exhibition, every publication and every lecture is a well-founded study of sources. Clients often lack the time or personnel to conduct on-site research in archives or libraries. I am happy to support you by sifting through and evaluating the relevant source material for your projects.

For clients, such as the Rosgartenmuseum Konstanz, I conduct research in city, district and newspaper archives. The usual procedure also includes looking through secondary literature. I am also very familiar with the Lake Constance collection at the University of Constance. I prepare the relevant material in excerpts and copies according to certain specifications - you can design your projects on this solid foundation!

Inquiries from private individuals are usually aimed at finding out more about their own ancestors. Do you only have a name or a few dates and would like to know more about your ancestors? Do you already have sources but are unable to view the material on site?

I would be happy to support you with your concerns!

Company history

Company history

As a sub-discipline of economic and social history, corporate history offers the opportunity to scientifically research and document the development of individual companies. Not every company has a well-documented history. In order to close this gap(s), I sift through your internal written records and conduct on-site research in archives and libraries, as well as in electronic databases. The findings will be used to create a scientifically sound contribution that brings the history of your company to life and makes it tangible.

125 years of Savings and Building Association Constance eG

The "Savings and building association Constance" , the second oldest non-profit building cooperative in Baden, can look back on 125 years of company history this year. As a historian, I was hired to research the history of the cooperative and make it visible to the public: Extensive source material, consisting of archival documents, annual reports and newspaper articles etc., was reviewed and evaluated.

Members of the SBK and anyone interested can find out more about the exciting history of the cooperative from July 2021: An annual report richly illustrated with historical motifs will be published to mark the anniversary! 

Publications

Writing is one of the activities of a historian. In addition to academic (final) theses at universities, it is a great pleasure for me to bring history(ies) closer to a wide audience. History doesn't have to be "dry as dust" and overloaded with dates - I want to inspire you with culture and history in a scholarly, yet exciting and entertaining way!

Publication in the anthology "Constance and Italy"

The volume of the "Kleine Schriftenreihe des Stadtarchivs Konstanz", published in 2023, sheds light on the transalpine relations of Constance and Italy through the centuries.

Schilhab, Daniela: Italian "Immigrant families": About living and working in Constance, in: Klöckler, Jürgen (ed.): Constance and Italy. Transalpine relations through the centuries (=Small series of publications of the Constance City Archive, 23), Constance 2023, pp. 353-374.

Publication in the SINGEN Yearbook 2021:

Under the motto "Citizens write for citizens", the town of Singen has regularly published a contemporary history yearbook since 1966. In the 55th volume of the "chronicle of events in the city Singen", I published an article about migrant workers at Maggi.

Schilhab, Daniela: Italian workers at Maggi in Singen, in: Singen (Hohentwiel) (Hrsg.): SINGEN yearbook 2021 (=SINGEN yearbook, 55), Singen/Hohentwiel 2021, pp. 38-42.

Publication in the hegau yearbook 2020: In the anthology "people in motion - migration" my article on the "Immigration of Italian "guest workers" in Constance" was published.

The hegau yearbook contains topics on the regional history of the Hegau and neighboring areas. The yearbooks have had a theme since 2001, are published annually and are available from the office of the Hegau History Association or from bookshops.

Schilhab, Daniela: Immigration of Italian "guest workers" in Constance, in: people in motion - migration (=hegau, 77), Singen/Hohentwiel 2020, pp.231-242.

Publication in the 2020 Annual Report of savings and building association Constance eG:

To mark the 125th anniversary of the non-profit building cooperative, I wrote an article about the history of the savings and building association Constance. The 2020 annual report compares the development of the cooperative with the city of Constance in decades.

Schilhab, Daniela: 125 years of savings and building association Constance, in: Savings and Building association eG (Hrsg.): Annual report 2020, Constance 2021, pp. 96-145. 

Constance is dancing - A light art project about wealth and violence in the Middle Ages

In 2018, the city of Constance celebrated the fourth year of the Council's anniversary with the "Year of Culture".

An animated façade projection and an accompanying volume, which is available digitally, were created in a cooperation project between students at the University of Konstanz and the HTWG.

"Constance is dancing" was dedicated to the Fourth Constance Guild Uprising of 1429/30, which came to a head around the "House to the cat" in today's Katzgasse.

By clicking on the link you leave my website. The respective website operator is responsible for the content of the respective websites.

Recherchen & Publikationen

Projekte

Recherchen

Hinter jeder Ausstellung, jeder Publikation und jedem Vortrag steckt ein fachlich fundiertes Quellenstudium. Oftmals fehlt es AuftraggeberInnen an Zeit oder Personal um vor Ort in Archiven oder Bibliotheken recherchieren zu können. Gerne unterstütze ich Sie, indem ich für Ihre Projekte das einschlägige Quellenmaterial sichte und auswerte.

Für AuftraggeberInnen, wie beispielsweise das Rosgartenmuseum Konstanz, recherchiere ich in Stadt-, Kreis- und Zeitungsarchiven. Zum gängigen Prozedere gehört ebenso das Sichten von Sekundärliteratur. Auch mit der Bodensee-Sammlung an der Universität Konstanz bin ich bestens vertraut. Das betreffende Material bereite ich nach bestimmten Vorgaben in Exzerpten und Kopien auf – auf diesem stabilen Fundament können Sie ihre Projekte gestalten!

Anfragen von Privatpersonen zielen meist darauf ab, mehr über die eigenen Vorfahren zu erfahren. Sie haben nur einen Namen oder ein paar Daten und möchten mehr über Ihre Ahnen wissen? Haben Sie bereits Quellen in Erfahrung gebracht, können aber das Material nicht vor Ort sichten?

Gerne unterstütze ich Sie bei Ihren Anliegen!

Unternehmensgeschichte

Unternehmensgeschichte

Als Teildisziplin der Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte bietet die Unternehmensgeschichte die Möglichkeit, die Entwicklung einzelner Unternehmen wissenschaftlich zu erforschen und zu dokumentieren. Nicht jedes Unternehmen verfügt über eine gut dokumentierte Geschichte. Um diese Lücke(n) zu schließen sichte ich für Sie ihre internen schriftlichen Bestände und recherchiere vor Ort in Archiven und Bibliotheken, sowie in elektronischen Datenbanken. Aus den gewonnenen Erkenntnissen entsteht ein wissenschaftlich fundierter Beitrag, der die Geschichte Ihres Unternehmens lebendig und greifbar macht.

125 Jahre Spar- und Bauverein Konstanz eG

Der Spar-und Bauverein Konstanz kann als zweitälteste gemeinnützige Baugenossenschaft Badens in diesem Jahr auf eine 125-jährige Firmengeschichte zurückblicken. Als Historikerin wurde ich engagiert, um die Geschichte der Genossenschaft zu erforschen und für die Öffentlichkeit sichtbar zu machen: Umfangreiches Quellenmaterial, bestehend aus Archivalien, Geschäftsberichten und Zeitungsartikeln etc., wurde gesichtet und ausgewertet. 

Mitglieder des SBK und alle Interessierten können ab Juli 2021 mehr über die spannende Geschichte der Genossenschaft erfahren: Zum Jubiläum erscheint ein mit historischen Motiven reich bebilderter Geschäftsbericht! 

Publikationen

Zum Tätigkeitsfeld einer Historikerin zählt das Schreiben. Neben wissenschaftlichen (Abschluss-)Arbeiten an Universitäten, ist es mir eine große Freude, Geschichte(n) einem breiten Publikum näherzubringen. Geschichte muss nicht „staubtrocken“ und mit Jahreszahlen überladen sein – wissenschaftlich fundiert, aber trotzdem spannend und kurzweilig möchte ich Sie für Kultur und Geschichte begeistern!

Veröffentlichung im Sammelband „Konstanz und Italien“

Der im Jahr 2023 erschienene Band der „Kleinen Schriftenreihe des Stadtarchivs Konstanz“ beleuchtet die transalpinen Beziehungen von Konstanz und Italien durch die Jahrhunderte.

Schilhab, Daniela: Italienische „Gastarbeiterfamilien“: Vom Leben und Arbeiten in Konstanz, in: Klöckler, Jürgen (Hg.): Konstanz und Italien. Transalpine Beziehungen durch die Jahrhunderte (=Kleine Schriftenreihe des Stadtarchivs Konstanz, 23), Konstanz 2023, S. 353-374.

Veröffentlichung im SINGEN Jahrbuch 2021:

Unter dem Motto „Bürger schreiben für Bürger“ gibt die Stadt Singen seit 1966 regelmäßig ein zeitgeschichtliches Jahrbuch heraus. Im 55. Band der „Chronik des Stadtgeschehens“ habe ich einen Beitrag über ArbeitsmigrantInnen bei der Maggi veröffentlicht.

Schilhab, Daniela: Italienische Arbeitskräfte bei der Singener Maggi, in: Stadt Singen (Hohentwiel) (Hrsg.): SINGEN Jahrbuch 2021 (=SINGEN Jahrbuch, 55), Singen/Hohentwiel 2021, S. 38-42.

Veröffentlichung im hegau-Jahrbuch 2020: Im Sammelband „Menschen in Bewegung – Migration“ erschien mein Beitrag zur „Zuwanderung von italienischen „Gastarbeitern“ in Konstanz“.

Das hegau-Jahrbuch enthält Themen zur Regionalgeschichte des Hegaus und angrenzender Gebiete. Die Jahrbücher stehen seit 2001 unter einem Motto, erscheinen jährlich und sind bei der Geschäftsstelle des Hegau-Geschichtsvereins oder im Buchhandel erhältlich.

Schilhab, Daniela: Zuwanderung von italienischen „Gastarbeitern“ in Konstanz, in: Menschen in Bewegung – Migration (=hegau, 77), Singen/Hohentwiel 2020, S. 231-242.

Veröffentlichung im Geschäftsbericht 2020 des Spar- und Bauvereins Konstanz eG:

Zum 125jährigen Jubiläum der gemeinnützigen Baugenossenschaft verfasste ich einen Beitrag über die Geschichte des Spar- und Bauvereins Konstanz. Im Geschäftsbericht 2020 wird die Entwicklung der Genossenschaft dem Konstanzer Stadtgeschehen in Dekaden gegenübergestellt.

Schilhab, Daniela: 125 Jahre Spar- und Bauverein, in: Spar- und Bauverein eG (Hrsg.): Geschäftsbericht 2020, Konstanz 2021, S. 96-145. 

Costnitz tanzt – Ein Lichtkunstprojekt über Reichtum und Gewalt im Mittelalter

Im Jahr 2018 feierte die Stadt Konstanz mit dem „Jahr der Kultur“ das vierte Jahr des Konziljubiläums.

In einem Kooperationsprojekt zwischen Studierenden der Universität Konstanz und der HTWG entstanden eine animierte Fassadenprojektion und ein Begleitband, der digital verfügbar ist.

„Costnitz tanzt“ widmete sich dem Vierten Konstanzer Zunftaufstand  1429/30, der sich rund um das „Haus  zur Katz“ in der heutigen Katzgasse zuspitzte.

Mit dem Anklicken des Links verlassen Sie meine Internetseite. Für die Inhalte der jeweiligen Internetseiten ist der/die jeweilige Seitenbetreiber/in verantwortlich.